Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Iraqi insurgents gunned down

Working rage-aholic

Iraqi insurgents gunned down

This video is not for the faint of heart. It's a heat sensing video of US soldiers gunning down Iraqi insurgents. Note how many times they get permission before firing...

http://www.uselessjunk.com/article_full.php?id=13507

I understand why, and I'm no expert, I wasn't there, etc, but I think it's scary that soldiers have to go through what seems like a million channels to engage combatants with missiles, trucks and what appeared to be a piece of artillery. It's a war, and even though I never supported this war, that doesn't mean the soldiers who have to fight should be handcuffed.

I'm guessing the Iraqi's who were killed would not have been as patient...I know atrocities happen in war, and I'm sure American soldiers commit them as well-but I think this video is one example of how professional and generally careful the US military tries to be. Maybe sometimes too much so.

While I find the 'no liberal comments' at the top uneccessary and an another attempt to turn the 'l' word into a pejorative term while intimidating others and discouraging free speech-I disagree with the posters who cited the Geneva convention and called this a war crime or said they don't see a weapon. It's naive to think those were anything other than weapons being thrown in the field, and there is no time for a trial in war. That is what war is and I'm greatful it wasn't me having to make that decision. If it had been me I would've been frustrated at having to ask permission to fire on the enemy.
    Last edited by btyger; 12-24-2006 at 07:01 AM.
    Why are homely people discriminated against...we're the majority

I remember playing the computer games Gunship and LHX.

I wonder if they were using the Longbow version of the Apache. That has a sensor mast which allows the Apache to hide behind a hill, while being able to see over it.

proud infidel