Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Hotwire question...

Lover of Life

Hotwire question...

Hotwire tells me that they have a 4* available for $90/night during my stay and yet they are also offering 3*s for $120. Should I be suspicious? I've never used Hotwire before so I'm not entirely confident with it yet. One more thing...is either Hotwire or Priceline favorable (one over the other) in terms of the quality of hotel they offer? Thanks!

EDIT: One more thing...those of you with experience with Hotwire, do you recommend booking a month in advance? Or is it generally worthwhile to "wait to the last minute" in the hope that something great will pop up?
    Last edited by angeleyes; 07-20-2006 at 04:33 AM.

I've read great stuff about Priceline and have had good personal experiences with Priceline.

I've read a lot of horror stories about Hotwire. Granted, I read them on biddingfortravel.com, which is biased towards Priceline. But given my personal success with Priceline so far, I'm more likely to believe the bad press about Hotwire. If it's too good to be true, it probably is.

I don't think I've read anything good about Hotwire yet. The general complaint seems to be that they over-rate hotels in order to claim lower nightly rates. For example, what Hotwire says is a 3 star is actually a 2 star in a baaad neighborhood.

Hotwire vs Priceline

I've used both in my trip to Mtl.
    Priceline gives way better deals than hotwire from my experience.
    A 3 star rating for hotwire would mean you will probably get "Days Inn", whereas on priceline the same hotel would be rated as a 2.5 star which can be had for much less. (for me, I paid $72 American for a supposedly 3 star hotel on hotwire and it turned out to be Day's Inn, a week later I bid $55 on priceline for a 2.5 star hotel and got acepted. It was Day's Inn, almost the same hotel room)